Poachers Xmas Party. In February.


Should have put this up on Thursday 24th, but I’ve had one of those weekends that just flew by. So here it is now!

Just a quick blog tonight to chat briefly about Poacher Club Christmas party. That occurred tonight after the original was cancelled due to weather back in December. Poachers Club is an initiative to try and get families into the Bank. Kids join for something like £20 a season, and then get a party and other perks. The big perk though is members of Poachers Club get the following deal every game: One Adult for £7 and a Child for £1. That’s a cracking deal for struggling parents who wanna bring kids along.

Anyway I went straight there after work to meet Jodie. She runs Poachers Club and works hard on these nights doing pretty much everything! I had a disaster when I arrived: a bottle of water had burst in Poachers bag and pre soaked my suit for me. It was nice knowing I’d start cold and wet and progressively move to extremely hot and still wet. My Chesterfield programme was soaked as well as was my towel.

 The event was being covered by Siren FM as well who got me to say a few words. The students put a lot of work into bringing the hour long show which is another good thing for the club. I was asked about the Imps community initiative and why I enjoyed the event. On that occasion I felt that I could answer as both Poacher and as me (If I were texting there I’d put a smiley face, but I’m not).

The actual event itself was as expected. There was a mix of kids who wanted a photo but were too shy, kids who enjoyed battering me with various objects and kids who cried every time I walked past. That tends to be the main three categories of children, and the one I enjoy entertaining least are the ones who attack me! Tonight I was hit with various things ranging from a fairly harmless balloon to an extremely painful Guitar Hero Guitar. That particular instrument is extremely uncomfortable when it is forced up in between your legs. I’m not sure what hurts more: the pain or the indignity of having a child run off laughing his little socks off.

The point is that the kids love it, and they are the fans of tomorrow are they not? Therefore making them feel part of the club now could sow the seeds for later life. That’s a job I consider very important!

I enjoy these events though as I get changed in the sumptuous surroundings of the sponsors bar. The beer doesn’t flow, but I did get about fifteen chicken nuggets and two plates of chips. All’s well that ends well eh? As I left some of the first team lads turned up as well. I spotted Kanyucka, Spencer, O’Keefe, Hughton and I believe Julian Kelly. Players have been before but I don’t recall if they went under Sutton. However to see a mix of loanees, new players, fringe players and first teamers mixing so well was a positive sign for team spirit. It’s been reflected on the field and it’s a good thing for the club that it resonates through the community projects. I believe Scott Spencer had a massive bright red NY hat on, which is also good for me as I have around a thousand ready to sell in my loft. Perhaps I’ll take a small selection to the next home game.

Also just to finish a few posters on the Lincoln City messageboard Vitals have commented about me having an opinion outside the fur (well one poster). I do clearly state that this is MY blog about my experiences as a mascot. I won’t be bringing the club into disrepute nor will I be disclosing secrets. The internet is great and terrible in equal measure isn’t it? It’s great because decent Imps fans can get to chat to each other, compare thoughts and the like. Sadly it does give a minority a chance to fly their own flags and sit behind the safety of a keyboard firing off their bile. I’ll state now for anyone who is interested: I am happy to debate my Imps opinion with anyone at all over a pint of Fosters in the Trust Suite. As Gary Hutchinson, Imps fan I will never hide behind a pointless name like Emmuska Orczy, nor will I be attempting to further my own ‘brand’ through my opinions. To end here are some opinions of mine: • Despite his goals Josh O’Keefe is not League Two standard • Next season we will be more top ten than bottom ten • The Imps should never leave Sincil Bank • Marmite is vile, a bit like Engine Oil Jelly. • Just because Grimsby is called Great Grimsby, it isn’t therefore great. • Ditto anyone who’s name means something else: A name doesn’t define the man. If it did I’d be out Poacher rabbits then bringing them home to keep in a Hutch. I don’t do that. • Hobb Nob biscuits are my favourite • With a nice brew, three sugars and plenty of milk. • This list has gone on too long. To Oxford tomorrow night!

About themascotdiaries

I am a Lincoln City fan and mascot. However the views expressed here are 100% Gary Hutchinson and in no way connected to Poacher The Imp or Lincoln City FC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Poachers Xmas Party. In February.

  1. City-Fan says:

    Quote
    I am a Lincoln City fan and mascot. However the views expressed here are 100% Gary Hutchinson and in no way connected to Poacher The Imp or Lincoln City FC

    That’s shattered our illusions then most of us imps fans thought poacher was real lol.

Leave a comment