Imps v Morecambe and Chesterfield


Time for a quick update from the favourite bundle of fur for 99.9% of Imps fans. I promised a diary and decided to keep it packed full of interesting anecdotes. In order to do this I have to throw a few games together. It’s not all rock and roll under the foam!

Starting with our win over Morecambe, a result that really convinced me we are going to be clear of relegation. The boys put a great shift in and looked every inch a competitive League Two side. Ashley Grimes superb effort will stick very firmly in my mind, an example of exquisite skill coupled with a predators finish. I understand people are asking who the better player is: Somma or Grimes. My opinion is that Davide Somma is a better all round player, strong with a keen eye for goal. However Grimes is a different type of player, slippery and full of skill with a keen eye for goal. So in fact the one common denominator is this: they score goals. If pushed as to which were more influential, I’d say that both have been almost solely responsible for surviving relegation ( I hope in the case of this season) and so both have been of equal importance. If I were pushed as to who I’d rather have permanently in the Imps side I’d say Somma purely because he is more my ‘type’ of centre forward. However it’s a bit like being asked to chose between a thousand pounds in twenties or a thousand pounds in fifties.
Anyway as Poacher I was approached by the BBC’s late kick off programme to appear in a feature at the cathedral. I was over the moon to be asked and arranged to be there by half ten. Sadly at eleven I was still at work in an area with terrible mobile signal. The result? By one o’clock I’d missed filming, and found myself sat behind the BBC crew in the Trust Suite. I offered my apologies but I don’t think they were overly impressed. It’s a shame as it would be good coverage for the club, but as they were at the club anyway at least we didn’t miss out on exposure. Sadly of course I missed out on a chance to get my mug on TV, but I tend not to bother about recognition for myself.
The afternoon was good fun from a Poacher point of view. The Morecambe support were few and far between but they gave me a good reception. I’ve always rated the fans and officials from Morecambe, I find them an incredibly friendly and community spirited club. Fair play they clapped me on my rounds and I genuinely appreciate that. A bit of banter is good, but good humoured banter is better.
Sadly the same can’t be said of our adversaries of a week later from Chesterfield. With bigger numbers comes lesser approachability (is that a word? My spell check hasn’t picked it up but it seems ridiculous) and the Chesterfield fans were far from friendly. I lap it up of course; a few comedy bum pats and fingers-to-the-mouth shush signals. However having the bigger crowd does bring more noise and even more atmosphere. I have to say I felt that against the Spireites the noise levels were as high as any other game this season: good signs.
I get in amongst the crowd a bit more now as the atmosphere in and around the ground has changed. We may be lower / mid table but there are smiles on faces and friendly words to be had. It makes my job loads better. I’ve got into a routine of getting over in front of The Stacey West now, and with Billy’s flags recently added the whole ambience has changed. I get a right buzz wandering towards that stand, seeing the flashes of colour and hearing the chorus of voices. You can talk about the Kop or the Stretford End but we have our own area of fanatical support. I know I’m biased; I’ve been Stacey West / Railway End for twenty four and a half years now. It’s great to watch the rebirth develop week in week out.
Of course that great atmosphere took a dent with a 2-0 reverse against Chesterfield but the SW kept in good voice anyway. It was always going to be a tough game and while we can’t get apathetic over a defeat, it didn’t feel as much of a hammer blow as it could have.
The Football League show came along to the Chesterfield game and despite a quick chat with that slightly camp bald fella I didn’t feature. There were no cameras around the pitch to play up to (that I noticed) so it didn’t really affect me. The only difference for me is the fact my changing room was filled up with electric equipment and monitors. Luckily for you (and me) the cameras weren’t rolling when the suit came away from my slender frame.
So that was the week that was. On a personal note a poster on Lincoln Vitals mentioned that he may have seen me getting a little confused in the communal hand washing area of the Engine Shed recently. In my defence it is very misleading having urinal shaped sinks in an area marked ‘toilet’, but I am 100% sure that I did nothing to bring shame on my family. However being recognised in nightspot toilets is not a good thing: how long before a grainy mobile phone recording of me attempt to wash my hands in a urinal emerge? Again.
Couple of weeks off now from match day duty, although on Thursday I do have the kids Christmas party. Jodie Tipper works really hard for the club and it’s a pleasure to be able to give some time to make a young kids day. I love the Poacher parties as the kids get so excited, seeing smiles on their faces makes the job worthwhile.

About themascotdiaries

I am a Lincoln City fan and mascot. However the views expressed here are 100% Gary Hutchinson and in no way connected to Poacher The Imp or Lincoln City FC.
This entry was posted in The Diary. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Imps v Morecambe and Chesterfield

  1. City-Fan says:

    Great blog and a good insight into the furry world of the mascot.

Leave a comment